Now you can send self-destructing emails with Gmail's 'Confidential Mode'

by Lawrence Cooper August 21, 2018, 0:28
Now you can send self-destructing emails with Gmail's 'Confidential Mode'

Earlier this year, Google introduced redesigned Gmail with lots of new features including Confidential Mode.

In Gmail Android and iOS applications, it works in the comparative way. Consequently, Gmail becomes the first email app on the Android smartphone to incorporate the feature.

If you want to use confidential mode, you simply need to hit the "Compose" button to start your email.

Gmail users can protect sensitive email content by sending messages in confidential mode, through which they can set an expiration date on a message or revoke recipient access. There is every chance that the upcoming feature will be available on the web and mobile versions of Gmail, but this might yet change before the launch proper-and that is if Google does not decide to pull the plug. Presently, the confidential mode feature isn't available for G Suite customers. Recipients can confirm their identities with a passcode via text message. You can even set a password for the emails you send. This means that if you want to send sensitive information via e-mail, you'll be able to do so with added security. If you don't see it, try downloading the latest 8.7 release from APK Mirror and give the Gmail app a force close. Lastly, the confidential mode also allows the users to secure the attachments of their mail by a passcode. Then in the overflow menu you will see the "confidential mode". Tap the three dots on the right top corner to choose "Confidential Mode". Google's Support Page warns that recipients with malicious programs set on their computer will be able to copy or download the messages or attachments. Non-gmail recipients will get an email passcode to authenticate.

What is the Confidential Mode? For Gmail-to-Gmail emails, Google can pull them back.

Implementing confidential mode is a fairly easy process that's similar across both Android and iOS. Make sure you enter the recipient's phone number, instead of your own.

Through this mode, the emails that you send will be self destructed after sometime.

On the bottom of the screen, tap Remove access.


TOP News

New York University offers free tuition for all medical students

Brendan Rodgers frustrated by Dedryck Boyata absence after Champions League exit

Trump signs defense bill named for John McCain

Google Play shows warning to anyone searching for Fortnite APKs

Celebrities tweet love, condolences after Aretha Franklin dies in Detroit

Judge Threatens to Hold Jeff Sessions in Contempt for Deportation

Amazon Working on Tablo-Like Networked DVR

US Ambassador Warns Britain to Back Trump Over Iranian Sanctions

Roethlisberger exits practice early with possible concussion

Barcelona boss Ernesto Valverde wants Ousmane Dembele to stay after 'wonder goal'