Karnataka Polls: Congress announces 218 candidates, Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari

by Abel Hampton April 16, 2018, 4:39
Karnataka Polls: Congress announces 218 candidates, Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari

The Congress on Sunday released its list of candidates in the high-stakes elections in Karnataka next month.

Assembly poll surveys undertaken by professional agencies for the BJP in Karnataka have shown the party is up against a formidable rival led by Congress chief minister Siddaramaiah and that it has to work harder to turn the tide in its favour, sources have said.

Chief minister Siddaramaiah will contest only from Chamundeshwari, ending speculation that he could contest from Badami too, while KPCC chief G Parameshwara, who came third in the 2013 assembly election, has been given a ticket to contest from Koratagere. Siddaramaiah's son Yathindra Siddaramaiah has been given ticket from Varuna in Mysore while Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy's daughter Soumya Reddy will contest from Jayanagar in Bengaluru.

Sources said the differences were apparent as each of the senior party leaders from the state were carrying their own separate lists of candidates for approval.

Sources in the CM's Office, however, maintained that it was the party tradition to release the list a day or two after the CEC meeting.

Candidates for Sindgi, Nagthan, Melukote, Kittur, Raichur and Shantinagar assembly seats have not been decided yet.

The May 12 assembly election is slated for 224 constituencies in the state. Besides only 4 tickets were given to kin of Congress leaders. Congress MLA NA Haris, however, was not given a ticket; he had won from Shanti Nagar previous year. The state is now being ruled by the Congress which has a total of 113 MLAs in the house of 224.

Congress, BJP and JD (S)+ seat share according to the India Today Karvy Insights opinion poll. The BJP has 44 Members whereas Janata Dal (S) has 40 MLAs. The last date for filing nominations is April 24 and withdrawal is April 27.

Karnataka goes to polls on 12 May to elected the new government in the 224-seat assembly.

TOP News

Funny stories from casino

Bitcoin price SURGE: Why is BTC rising? Will bitcoin surge past $8K?

Lawmakers say Trump administration is looking into rejoining Trans-Pacific Trade Partnership

Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg testifies before House Committee

More than 250 people killed after Algerian military plane crashes

Bills OG Richie Incognito 'strongly considering' retirement

Players that will annoy you at the casino

The increase on a real money games at 2015 was 27%

US Gas Prices Highest Since 2015

Avengers: Infinity War trailer, cast and meme social media reaction